There's a better way to personalize your website experience. With myConnection, the profile you create allows you to set up a unique starting point for the tasks and transactions that you want to complete in your time on this website. Use myConnection to gather the information that you most care about from across this website into one central location, giving you greater control over how you connect with your community.
A Concealed Handgun Permit Application and a copy of the Colorado Statutes pertaining to Concealed Weapons is available online or at the Delta County Sheriff’s Office, 555 Palmer Street, Delta, Colorado. Also see the Consumer Guidelines for Firearm Safety.
If you are applying for a new permit the following steps will make the application process as easy as possible.
Fill out the two-page application. Do not sign the application at this time. Retain the Concealed Weapon Permit Information Packet for your future reference.
Come to Delta County Sheriff’s Office (daily between 8:00 am and 7:00 p.m., dependent upon Detention staff availability) for fingerprinting. Two fingerprint cards will be done--one card will be sent to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and one card sent to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
At the time of fingerprinting, you will pay a fee of $52.50, cash, money order, cashier’s check, or personal check, made payable to Delta County Sheriff’s Office.
Turn in your application and certificate of hand gun training to Sheriff’s Office at the time you are fingerprinted. Delta County does not accept online concealed handgun permit certificates.
When the Sheriff’s Office has received approval for your permit from CBI and FBI, you will be contacted and an appointment set up for finalizing the application process.
At the time of your scheduled appointment, you will pay an administrative fee of $50.00 cash, money order, cashier’s check, or personal check, made payable to Delta County Sheriff’s Office. You will then be photographed and receive your permit.
Renewals are effective for five years from the date of issue. Thirty days prior to expiration of a permit, the permittee may download the renewal application or obtain a copy from the Delta County Sheriff’s Office.
Please sign the renewal application in front of a witness at the time you submit your renewal application, along with cash or personal check for $13.00, made payable to the Delta County Sheriff’s Office.
This fee is for the Instant Criminal Background check and a criminal history check of the Colorado Bureau of Investigation files. We will submit your application and contact you when we receive CBI’s results.
You will receive a postcard in the mail asking you to call the Delta County Sheriff’s Office at 874-2010. Make an appointment to come to the Office, 555 Palmer Street, Delta, for your final interview, photo and card distribution. An administrative fee of $15.00 cash or personal check, made payable to the Delta County Sheriff’s Office, will be due at that time.
Permit Loss, Theft or Destruction
Within 30 days after a permittee changes the address specified on his or her permit, or within three business days after a permittee’s permit is lost, stolen or destroyed, the permittee shall notify the Delta County Sheriff’s Office of the change of address, loss, theft or destruction. Failure to notify the Sheriff is a Class 1 Petty Offense.
If a permit is lost, stolen or destroyed, the permit is automatically invalid. The person to whom the permit was issued may obtain a duplicate upon submittal of a notarized statement to the Delta County Sheriff’s Office that the permit was lost, stolen or destroyed, and the fee of $15.00 made payable to the Delta County Sheriff’s Office.
Top of Page