Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Generally, no. Tax year 2019 was a general re-appraisal year in Colorado. All taxable properties were re-valued in Delta County in Tax Year 2019. Tax Year 2020 is an “intervening” year in Colorado’s statutory 2-year reappraisal cycle. Generally, a property value will only change in Tax Year 2020 if the physical characteristics of the property have changed, or if the property’s use or classification for assessment purposes has changed. In those cases, the Assessor’s office will send a Notice of Valuation in May, 2020 that will reflect the valuation change. Otherwise, the insert you receive in your Tax Year 2019 Tax Notice (mailed in January, 2020) serves as your Tax Year 2020 Notice of Valuation, with the actual value of your property stated on the Tax Notice itself. Using this method to notify taxpayers of their valuation in an intervening year saves several thousand dollars in mailing costs. The taxpayer has a right to challenge the Tax Year 2020 valuation until June 1, 2020, if he or she believes the valuation of his or her property is incorrect. Under Colorado law, properties will be reappraised to a new level of value for Tax Year 2021.
What will affect property valuations in Delta County is how the real estate market has behaved here during the 18 months prior to June 30, 2018. First, under Colorado law, the sales data collection period for 2019 and 2020 tax years ended on June 30, 2018 (Colorado requires re-appraisal of all taxable real property to a new level of value every two years—2019 was a “general re-appraisal year”; 2020 is an “intervening” year.) Second, both sales volume have increased and sales prices are generally increasing in Delta County during the data collection period, however, sales price changes have not been universal or even across the county. Colorado law requires that the Assessor’s appraisal models be representative of the real estate market based on actual arms-length sales that have occurred. The data collection period for valuations for tax years 2019 and 2020 starts January 1, 2017, and ends June 30, 2018 - what the 2019 valuations will look like will depend on how the Delta County real estate market behaves during the 18 months that began on January 1, 2017. Please note that these dates are not determined by the assessor, but are set by Colorado statute. Colorado law (and two published Colorado Court Cases) prohibits the Assessor from considering any sales that occurred after June 30, 2018 for purposes of tax year 2019 and 2020 valuations.
Foreclosures that have occurred after June 30, 2018 will, under Colorado law, have no effect on Tax Year 2019 and 2020 valuations because they occurred after the end of the sales data collection period for this re-appraisal cycle. For foreclosures that occurred during the data collection period that ended June 30, 2018, the following rules apply: Under Colorado Constitutional, statutory, and/or regulatory provisions, conveyances of property to a financial institution in a foreclosure process (including Deeds in Lieu of Foreclosure) cannot be considered for valuation analysis and modeling purposes because they are deemed to be non-arms-length transactions. Conveyances of property from a financial institution to a buyer are to be considered and may be used for analysis and valuation modeling purposes if the Assessor determines that they are valid arms-length transactions.
All taxes may be perceived as “unfair” by some individuals or groups. Each type of tax (sales, income, or property) has advantages and disadvantages—for either the taxpayer or for the government agencies that rely on tax revenue to provide services. One of the features of the property tax that makes it attractive for those reliant on tax revenues is that the property tax is a relatively stable source of revenue, regardless of short-term fluctuations in the economy. Many of the government entities that rely on property tax provide services that also are necessary regardless of economic conditions. Examples of these are schools, county government (road maintenance, law enforcement, etc.), cities and towns (law enforcement, water, sewage treatment, etc.), water districts, cemetery districts, hospital and ambulance districts, and fire protection districts. Thus, the property tax provides a relatively stable source of revenue to agencies whose services continue to be in demand regardless of economic conditions The property tax is also one of the most cost-efficient taxes to administer and collect—and those collections and distributions are administered locally by the Delta County Treasurer.
The biggest inequity in the Colorado property tax system is that only 7.15% of the market (“actual”) value of residential property is taxable, while 29% of all other property (including commercial and industrial property) is taxable. This inequity is mandated by a formula approved by the Colorado voters and placed into the Colorado Constitution. That formula can only be changed by a vote of the Colorado citizenry. Despite this constitutional inequity, the actual appraisal methods used by Colorado assessors to establish property values are one of the most accurate and fair systems in use by any state. Residential property taxpayers in Colorado pay one of the lowest effective tax rates per dollar of market value of anyplace in the United States—generally ranking from 46th to 50th lowest in the U.S.
The formula for computing taxes is as follows:
The Assessor’s responsibility is to determine the actual value and classification of real and personal property. Generally, the Assessment Ratio for real and personal property in Colorado is 29%, except for improved residential property. The residential assessment ratio must be adjusted every two years by the State Legislature to conform with the 1982 “Gallagher” Amendment to the Colorado Constitution. Under the Gallagher Amendment, that ratio is subject to review and possible change by the State Legislature to comply with the formula contained within the Amendment at every two-year re-appraisal cycle. For tax years 2015 and 2016, this ratio was 7.96%, 7.20% for tax years 2017 and 2018, and is currently 7.15%. The various mill levies are set each December by the various taxing entities. The 1992 “TABOR” Amendment to the Colorado Constitution generally requires a vote to be taken in the appropriate taxing district in order to raise a mill levy. Provisions of the TABOR Amendment regulate the increase in the revenue a taxing entity may be allowed, which can result in lowering of levies under some circumstances. The Assessor has no control of either the setting of the assessment ratio or mill levies.
Not usually. In many cases, there is no basis for a value adjustment. Many of the value changes which are made during appeal period reflect minor corrections in property inventories, which generally do not cause major value changes. As for taxes, an example of a $1,000 reduction in actual value of an improved residential property would reduce a tax bill by around $4.00 to $6.00 depending on the mill levy.
Assuming the mill levies are the same, it’s because of the assessment ratio. As discussed above, the assessment ratio for improved residential property has decreased to 7.15% for 2019. Under the Colorado Constitution and Statutes, commercial property has been and will be assessed at 29% of actual value. In other words, for tax year 2020, the portion of a commercial property’s value that is taxable is estimated to remain over three times the portion of an improved residential property’s value that is taxable. This inequity is part of the Colorado Constitution and can only be changed by a vote of the people.
From the actual recorded deeds and Real Property Transfer Declarations filed with the County Clerk & Recorder’s office. Colorado is a “public disclosure” state for real property records. When a deed is recorded transferring title to real property for consideration (money, etc.), the sales price of the real property must be disclosed to the County Clerk & Recorder and the County Clerk shall impose a documentary fee based upon that sales price (§ 39-13-102, C.R.S.). It is a crime to purposely misstate the sales price to the County Clerk & Recorder, punishable by a fine and/or jail time upon conviction (§ 39-13-106, C.R.S.). From the documentary fee, the Assessor can readily compute the property’s sales price, as well as by reviewing the Real Property Transfer Declaration. Real property sales prices are a public record and must be publicly available on the Assessor’s records; the Real Property Transfer Declaration, however, is NOT a public document.
Your title (if your vehicle has a lien we will accept a photocopy of the title showing lien information) or a current out-of-state registration Proof of insurance. A VIN inspection from any local law enforcement agency or licensed automobile dealer. Fees will vary depending on type and year of vehicle.
NOTE: As of July 1, 2007, to reduce costs, the Secretary of State’s Office will no longer mail renewal reminder post cards to notaries when their terms are about to expire. Notaries who wish to apply for reappointment will be able to obtain the necessary materials from our website, and renewal forms are now accepted up to 90 days prior to the current commission expiration date. Link...
Delta County Alerts is the official reverse emergency notification system for Delta County and parts of Gunnison (Somerset, McClure Pass, County Road-12 and County Road-265) and Montrose County (Maher/Crystal Creek) that Delta County Dispatch services. Delta County Dispatch and emergency management will use the Delta County Alerts system to send official, real-time focused alerts to members of the public about potential life safety issues happening in your neighborhood and what steps residents may need to stay safe.
Yes, due to the transition from CodeRED to Delta County Alerts, we need all Delta County residents to register for the new system to ensure we have complete and accurate contact information in the notification system to include: address, cell phone, home phone (if applicable), email, and cell phone number. Use of the CodeRED system by Delta County will end on January 1, 2023. If you previously created an account with CodeRED, that online account will stop working in January 2023 and you need to create a new account online with Delta County Alerts.
Registering for Delta County Alerts has many benefits including:
Anyone who lives, works or owns property in Delta county or within the Delta County 911 dispatch area which includes the Maher area of Montrose County and out to the Black Canyon and the Somerset / Hwy 133 McClure Pass, Kebler Pass and County Road 265 Muddy Creek areas in Gunnison County. Visitors or people with family in the notification area may also register to receive alerts!
If you, a family member, friend or neighbor need assistance registering for Delta County Alerts, please call the Delta County Sheriff's Office at 970-874-2000 (Monday - Friday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm) or email Emergency Management. You can also register by texting the words "deltacounty" (must be lower case) to 65513.
YES - we highly recommend that everyone provide a home and/or work physical address when registering. The Delta County Alerts system works best to notify you of incidents near your home when the system has a physical address programmed into the system. If we do not have your address, the system will not be able to send geo-targeted (i.e. location based) alerts or critical weather alerts. We also recommend that you register your children's school(s) so you can be alerted to public safety issues alerts near the school(s).
Note, regardless of whether you register your full address, the system will prompt all users to provide the following information to assist us in sending emergency notifications to geographical regions of the county:
No, the information you provide will only be used by local system administrators to send you alerts. Your contact information will never be sold to an outside entity.
The following are just a few examples of reasons why you may NOT receive Delta County Alerts:
If you are moving out of the area or no longer wish to receive emergency alerts, you may unsubscribe directly from inside your registration portal. Please login to your Delta County Alerts account, go to the "unsubscribe" button on the left side of your account and follow the prompts. This will delete all contact data from the system. If you need assistance, please contact Delta County Emergency Management at 970-874-2004 or email Emergency Management.
No. Generally, building permits still are not required in the unincorporated areas of Delta County. However, development must comply with standards in the Delta County Land Use Code (e.g. setbacks), and lands within the Highway 92 Overlay require a building permit. Also, Electrical and Plumbing permits are required through the State Division of Professions and Organizations (DPO), Well permits are required through the State Division of Water Resources (DWR), and Septic permits are required from the County Health Department.
Delta County adopted a Land Use Code, but has not adopted Building Codes. These are separate regulations where Land Use Codes provide direction of what can occur where, and Building Codes provide minimum specifications how a structure must be built.
No. Zoning designations establish the minimum parcel size and lot dimensions (Chapter 3.A, Table 3.a LUC). Lot sizes range from smaller lots (7,500 sf) in the Urban Growth Areas (UGA) to larger lots (35+ Acres) in the A-35 zone. Existing parcels smaller than the minimum parcel size are lawful and not restricted.
A property owner can request to divide off a portion of their parcel that does not meet the minimum lot size. However, the Board of Adjustments (BOA) must grant a variance from the minimum standards (lot size, lot width, frontage, etc.) before such subdivision can be approved.
Findings to approve a variance include: a) extraordinary and exceptional situation or condition (e.g. topographical constraint); b) difficulty or hardship; c) consistent with purpose of the Land Use Code. In addition, a variance to reduce lot size also requires findings that the parcel; a) conforms to all other requirements of the Code; b) meets the minimum lot dimensions for the zoning designation; c) does not interfere with wildlife habitat; and d) are not part of a prior subdivision and will be restricted from further subdivision.
For subdivisions approved/submitted prior to the 2021 Land Use Code
Subdivisions processed under the regulations in place prior to the 2021 Land Use Code must be completed January 5, 2022 pursuant to Resolution 2021-R-001.
EXAMPLE: A property has 20 acres and is zoned A-35. The owner wants to divide off a 2-acre portion for their family. Said owner may apply for a variance to create one new lot that does not meet the minimum lot size. With a variance for last size, all property involved in the division would be prohibited from any further subdivision.
Yes, if it is a lawful use/structure. Uses/Structures established in conformance with the rules in place at the time, but that are not consistent with the Land Use Code are considered lawful (aka legal nonconforming). A legal nonconforming use/structure may be continued and maintained in reasonable repair, but shall not be altered or expanded.
No, if it is an unlawful use/structure. Uses/Structures that were not consistent with the rules in place and are not consistent with the Land Use Code are considered unlawful (nonconforming). The Code does not allow for the perpetuation of unlawful development.
No. The Delta County Assessor appraises property based on the actual use of the property, regardless of the zoning designation.
Yes. While the Land Use Code is not based on density, one residence is allowed per lot in general. Up to two (2) additional residences may be allow provided there are permitted water connections for each unit, there is capability to provide adequate wastewater systems (e.g. septic), and the units are designed such that the units meet standards if the property were to be subdivided in the future (e.g. setbacks). At least one (1.0) acre is required for each wastewater system unless a septic variance is granted by the Health Department (Environmental Health). Development of four (4) or more units requires a Zoning Permit.
You are required to report to the Pretrial Services Office within 24 hours of your release from jail. Office location and hours are listed above.
There is no initial cost for pretrial services. Some fees may be imposed if you are non-compliant with the conditions of your bond.
Pretrial supervision and services terminate once you are sentenced in Court.
The federal tax credit that pays back 30% of the cost of your system is in effect until the end of 2019; it drops to 26% in 2020 and 22% in 2021. Beginning in 2022, the credit expires for residences and drops to 10% for businesses. The federal tax credit can be taken over two years. These amounts are deducted from the amount of tax you owe (before withholding), so if you do not owe enough taxes, you may not be able to claim the full tax credit. Since nonprofit organizations do not pay income taxes, they cannot benefit from the solar tax credits.
NOTE: This information is provided as a guideline only. Consult your tax advisor for complete information applicable to your situation.
You have a choice of paying your property taxes in full or in two equal payments. If you choose to pay in full, that payment is due by April 30th. If you choose to pay in equal installments, the first payment is due by the last day of February, and the second payment is due by June 15th. You may pay in person at the Treasurer’s Office located at 501 Palmer Street, Suite 202, in Delta or at the County Annex Building, 196 W. Hotchkiss Avenue, Hotchkiss, or you may mail your payment to the Delta County Treasurer, PO Box 580, Grand Junction, CO 81502-0580. United States Postal Service postmark is accepted for payment deadlines. We accept cash, checks, money orders, cashier’s checks, or certified funds. Be aware, however, that correct change may not always be available at the County Annex Building. Credit card or e-check payment may be made through GovPros.
By state statute, there is a 1% late fee charged for each month the property taxes are late. The first week of September, manufactured home and personal property taxes that are unpaid shall be advertised in the local newspaper. Unpaid real estate taxes will be advertised in September/October for three consecutive weeks. Taxes that remain unpaid are subject to sale at the property tax lien sale, which is generally held the first Thursday in November.
Note: There are additional fees added to your tax bill if your property is advertised. Manufactured homes and personal property are also subject to a distraint notice, which shall be posted at/on the delinquent property. This notification defines the delinquent property, the amount due, and payment instructions. Distrained property shall not be moved or sold until the taxes are paid. The distraint posting will also generate additional fees which shall be included as "Fees" on the posted notice.
If the investor who purchased the tax lien at the annual tax lien sale holds that lien for three years following the date of purchase, they are eligible to apply for a Treasurer’s Deed. If a Treasurer’s Deed is issued, you will lose the ownership of your property. The Treasurer’s Office does its due diligence to contact property owners during the Treasurer’s Deed process. You have the right to redeem the tax lien on your property at any time after the sale until a Treasurer’s Deed is issued. Note: Manufactured homes that are located on property that is not owned by the property owner shall be eligible for a Certificate of Ownership after one year.